Lately, it has seemed that everywhere I go I’m hearing about the 5 love languages. So I had to investigate!! What is a love language? I heard about it in podcasts, blog posts and more. So naturally, I had to GOOGLE it! Upon learning about this I really wanted to share it all here.

But first, if you’re wondering about what the benefits of having a relationship are and maintaining that human connection, then read this one! (Discovering the Benefits of Human Connection)

“Benefits such as a reduction in stress, improvement in levels of happiness, an increase in feelings of self-worth and increases in self-esteem are just a few. Feeling that connection with another human being puts into perspective that you are not alone. We are not alone. And, together, we will get through this. More benefits are, strengthening of your immune system, resulting in better overall health, along with a quicker recovery from disease or illness. “



The 5 Love Languages:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch
  • Acts of Service
  • Receiving Gifts

This idea came from Dr. Gary Chapman. There’s a whole book actually!

The 5 Love Languages – Book

How the love languages formed?

Basically, Dr. Gary Chapman was a counsellor and took notes upon studying couples. He found that the most common relationship issue was couples struggling to express love with intention and meaning. He created this theory of love languages.


Words of Affirmation – Love Language #1

This love language is about the expression of affection through spoken words. When this is someone’s love language they usually enjoy kind words, encouragement, love notes and cute text messages. When words of affirmation is someone’s love language they enjoy compliments.

Quality Time

Someone with this love language feels loved through receiving their partners’ undivided attention. This means putting away phones, turning off TVs, and letting go of any other distractions and focusing solely on their partner.

Physical Touch

A person with this love language feels loved through physical touch. This might mean hand-holding, hugging, snuggling at night, etc. You can find ways to insert physical touch by just lightly touching your partners’ arm, or simply being close to your partner.

(If you’re interested in learning about the benefits of online dating check out this post – 5 Benefits of Online Dating)


Acts of Service

When acts of service is someone’s love language they appreciate small thoughts. These might be filling up the car with gas, checking the mail, or other practical acts. It makes the person feel loved. It doesn’t matter how big or small the act of service is, if this is someones’ love language, it’s the thought that counts.

Receiving gifts

When receiving gifts is someones love language they view gift-giving as symbolic of love and affection. They appreciate the time their loved one put into choosing a gift for them and often remember gifts and who gave them for a long time!

You can try the test over here – Discover Your Love Language

Knowing what yours and your partners love language is can dramatically improve your relationship. Have you taken the test? Do you know what your love language is?

Love Always, Enn


7 thoughts on “What Is Your Love Language?

  1. I wrote about this on my site too (‘Relationship Goals: Improving Your Love language’) as it’s such a useful thing to be aware of and to treat mindfully when in a relationship. I love how we use all five languages but have one or two that are dominant in how we give and receive love. My husband and I have very different dominant love languages so understanding them was key to us not misunderstanding how each other shows love to themselves and other people. Thanks for sharing all this information, it’s so lovely to be reminded of this!

  2. Oh I remember reading this great book! This is great for relationships! My love language is quality time, and having an activity partner, my husbands is words of afirmation. Understanding the love languages helped us work on our relationship! We’ve been married 18 years strong! =)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.